breaks...

Chris Lowe

Im not completely sure which section this belongs in so I put it here. I work as a casual backstage technician at a theatre in Essex and we do some long old hours, as you probably all do. My question is what sort of time do you have to be working in order to get some form of break? we worked from 8.30am till 2.30pm today and were given a quarter hour break. I was wondering if this is legal and if not, which sort of regulation/legislation could I quote in future to ensure we all get sufficient breaks? I have always thought that it is 15 minutes for every 4 hours worked. Any help would be appreciated as I feel they are taking the piss by giving us too few break periods. Cheers all

The following may help you

Rest breaks - a break during your working day

The regulations give you a right to one rest break during your working day. A lunch or coffee break can count as your rest break. Additional breaks might be given by your contract of employment. There's no statutory right to 'smoking breaks'.

If you're an adult worker (ie over 18), you'll normally have the right to a 20 minute rest break if you're expected to work for more than six hours at a stretch.

If you're under 18 but over school leaving age (you're under school leaving age until the end of summer term of the school year in which you turn 16) you're classed as a 'young worker'. A young worker is entitled to a 30 minute rest break if they are expected to work for more that four and a half hours at a stretch.

The requirements are:

* the break must be in one block

* it can't be taken off one end of the working day - it must be somewhere in the middle

* you're allowed to spend it away from the place on your employer's premises where you work

* your employer can say when the break must be taken, as long as it meets these conditions

Daily rest - a break between working days