Cyberlights

zonino

Hi all,

I have a fair number of cyberlights doing random things on a random basis, I've never worked with them before, and the notes from the last guy basically say "first check the lamp, then, its not working because its a cyberlight"

If you have any general maintainance tips for these that'd be great, particularly things that go wrong (I have a number that are doing wierd things)

ta,

Stan

Common problems include: (Apologies if any of this is teaching your granny to suck eggs..)

Cyberlights don't use "normal" DMX addressing, so if they don't respond at all, chances are you've set the dips wrong. Read the manual before setting the dips.

The setting of the stops for the mirrors is a fine art form, and if done incorrectly can lead to strange jerkyness and slipping of your positions. (90% of my Cyber problems were due to this)

The internal wiring looms aren't quite as heat resistant as you might hope, and older cybers that behave badly frequently benefit from an entire new wiring loom. (Not cheap!)

hth

As Bryson says - Cyberlights have a very strange addressing system.

You don't give them a DMX address - you give them a fixture number, and you have to set them into the right DMX mode using Address dips 9 and 10.

Check the manual for details as I've not had the pleasure for 10 months.

However, if the fixtures work OK some/most of the time this probably isn't the issue.

If a Cyberlight works ok for a while (usually when cold) and then suddenly freaks out (random movements etc) when it's warm, one fairly common problem is that the smoothing capacitors for the "5v_iso" power line on the power board have failed - the regulator is a 7805 IIRC, and becomes unstable without the capacitors which mashes the DMX receiver chip power.

It's a board-level repair, but it's fairly simple if you are OK with a soldering iron.

Hi Stan