Old Strand Catalogues

simschr

Hi,

Basically I have the all the pages of the Strand Lighting ’96 catalogue and all of the Strand Lighting product data sheets in PDF format. I would really like to get this put up on the internet because it would be a shame to waste a source which others may find useful. I tried emailing Jon at the Strand Archive but to no avail. So I had the idea of hosting the PDF files on my own web space, is there anything stopping me to do this? Do I need to get direct permission for Strand?

Thanks,

Chris

Over enthusiastic spell checker correction edit as requested!

I'm not a lawyer (how many internet posts start that way?) but the catalogue is almost certainly subject to copyright by Strand...and therefore you'd need their permission to post it in its entirety.

Bob

To the best of my knowledge, "The Strand Archive" is the work of a single individual, not Strand. He may have contacts at Strand but I doubt he could give copyright permission.

Alas, with the changes and problems at Strand, finding the right person to give permission could be difficult.

Bob

I would think that as the information was all freely available in the public domain that Strand would not have an issue with it being put online. If they do have a problem they will just ask you to take it down which you can then do promptly.

If you do upload the stuff it would be great if you could then put a link to it in the appropriate parts of the blue room wiki as that would then be very useful.

Richard

Thanks Richard & everyone that contributed to this thread,

I will upload the files tonight if possible; I will then post a link to where the files are posted and in the Blue Room wiki.

120 PDF files I wonder how long that will take via FTP?

Chris

Thanks Jim for the offer, but we have already had hosting donated to us,