Lasers, lasers, lasers

Jamtastic3

In the past couple of weeks I've heard so many different situations involving lasers mostly to do with people wanting them for their purposes and it made me think - what is so good about them!?

Ok, just for the record, I'm not anti-laser (being a lighting engineer I've played with a few). But what gets me is that in my opinion, I don't see the real big deal about them. Most of the time it's people who want them in nightclubs and installs that I hear the word laser, so I can't talk for the big beasts that shine to the skies. Yeah lasers look great and produce some cool shapes but that's about it really.

I think what get's me is the fact that most of them are static unlike a moving light for example and most of them come with one colour - either red or green. I think that lasers are like strobes - they are a one off moment effect. Used at the right time you can catch a crowd - but used too much and they just look fairly boring and not exciting.

I work in a club venue where yes, we could do with a laser for another effect. But I'd rather spend the money on the lines of moving lights (even if they were fairly cheap ones)

What are everyone's thoughts???

My thoughts are that in the right hands with the right equipment, lasers can be breathtaking in a way that other lighting technologies simply aren't. However, that description doesn't apply to typical club lasers.

There are lasers, and there are lasers.

Ever see the Laserium show at London Planetarium, or the show at Hayden Planetarium (now sadly demolished) in New York? If not, you have been deprived, and if you have, you'll understand :P

The Co I work for have been a Laser Manufacturer for some 25 or so years.

Now I can accept some of the early points made here in that some low-spec laser systems can be quite one-dimensional.