What degree courses are good?

I am currently working as a technician, have been for the last three years full time, and three years previously part time. I consider myself a professional, but when applying for jobs no one takes me seriously as I don't have the necessary qualifications in their eyes.

I am looking into "Sound, Light and Live Event Technology", available at the University of Derby.

I am not particularly theatre orientated and can be found doing any technical entertainment industry post.

Have any of you in your wisdom any great experiences I can glean information off.

Thanks

Owen

:D I think you're going about this the wrong way.. With six years professional experience as a technician I think you do not need a degree...

I finished a degree last year, and yes it can help to get a foot in the door, but you already have your foot there. I wish I had six years experience, that should be more important to an employer than a piece of paper that says you spent three years in college.

If you have no formal qualifications consider making yourself more employable by taking courses related to the industry, such as PCM's rigging course (if it ever happens), a city and guilds electrical qualification or whatever is in your interest field..

** Struck out a section on universities questioning you motives for taking such a course - I assumed the course was a BA - will teach me to check before opening my mouth!!!**

Just my opinion....

Owen,

I have exchanged a few emails with Simon Lewis, who is the programme leader for the course you mentioned. If you're not already in touch with him, send me a PM and I'll give you his address.

I believe the Derby course has a strong technical and engineering focus, and it leads to a BSc degree, as opposed to the more common BA.

From that point of view, I would respectfully disagree with topper when he says:

With six years professional experience as a technician I think you do not need a degree...