moving light desks

techymatt

hi I'm a student doing tech theatre we have a show coming up and we need to hire a desk that is capable of controlling a number of intelligent lights I was wondering if any could recommend any hire company's

cheers

First of all, info on how many moving lights your look to control, what your budget is, where you are in the country etc would be useful in getting a recommendation.

There are also plenty of topics covering this sort of thing, you should be able to find lots of info using the built in search engine, or the Google one.

Stu

The big hire companies are:

Whitelight, AC Lighting, Stage Electrics.

Between them they have pretty much every desk you'd want to use.

But what is far more important is that you'd actually be able to use the desk!

There is no point in hiring in the latest all-singing-all-dancing desk if you don't know how to make it sing and dance.

If there is no moving-lights desk you've used much before (which is what it sounds like, as you've asked the question), I'd suggest spending some of the budget on a training course for the chosen desk.

Finally - what style of show?

The Pearl is a beautiful desk for busking the sort of number of movers you suggest, but it's not very good at running theatre-style shows.

Several other desks (eg Hog II) are superb at theatre-style, but harder to busk.

2 other Q's -

firstly, how long is the hire period (from first day of rig day to end of derig)?

what lighting desks can you use at the moment - if you get a desk from a manufacturer you are unfamiliar with, you will probably take longer to get to know it - the base programming method for the sirius applies to the frog, same goes for the GSX to the 500 - but this shouldn't be a reason to rule out other manufacturers eg avolites / flying pig / etc etc. (that read better than it looks)

what else is there in the grid? you probably don't want a mac2000 if you are using generics including minuettes and preludes...