Moving on to A2 level...

Hi there, my name is Leo and I'm currently following my dream (¬_¬) of becoming a lighting designer and technician. I'm hoping to do a course similar to the Glamorgan Lighting Technology course at uni, if not that course itself. I have a conundrum though. I am currently studying Drama, Computing, Media, Maths and Geography at AS level. I need to choose 1 to drop and not carry through to A2.

I am aiming for an absolute stunner of an application form - hoping to double the number of points required on the course I choose to ensure I can get in. I'm not sure how well different subjects come across when it comes to lighting courses, so let me summarise my current feelings about my subjects.

Drama - Definately going to continue with this, I do the design route so it seems like the natural choice

Computing - I have a natural talent in this area so I know I can achieve an A in this, thus I am carrying on.

Media - Not so sure about this. I'm very good at it but most people seem to consider it a fairly worthless subject - is this true in this field?

Maths - I can't stand it, but I'm fairly good at it. I know how great maths looks on an application, but once again this is a field not many people have advised me on.

Geography - Like the subject, but I'm not sure how high it is held in the creative arts industry.

I would appreciate your input on making this desicion, this forum has been helpful in the past and I am sure it won't fail me this time :)

I'm just taking the exams for physics, IT (computing but more buisness) and Design Technology.

To be honest, I dont think it really matters what subjects you take for this type of thing (having just been offered places at RWCMD and CSSD). As long as you show commitment to what you want to do. Performing well in any subject proves that you have dedication and motivation. Expierience in what you want to do cant fail to help prove your point either.

HTH