Rain Effect

DSA

Hi,

I found this forum yesterday, and it looks like it could be really helpful.

Anyway, first let me tell you who I am.

I am in charge of all the lighting and Sound at Pate's Grammar School in Cheltenham and hope that you can help me my latest problem from the director of our next play (which is 'Hay Fever').

He has suggested that it might be nice to have an unobtrusive rain effect to be seen through one of the windows at the back of the set. The problem is that there is only about 3 foot clearance from this window to the backwall, and actors have to pass this point (behind the set, to get from one wing to the other).

I was thinking that a projection effect would probably work, or some sort of (?rotating) gobo??, but I have no real experience in this field. At school we have lots of LCD projectors which could be used, as well as other usual lighting stuff.

I hope you can help - if you need any more information I will hopefully be able to provide it.

Thanks,

David

if the effect is limited to the window area, you could think about real water - trough at the bottom of the window to catch the water, pump to send it back up to a bit of hose with holes pierced in it is the simplest - although there may be some Health and Safety issues to do with possible contamination of recycled water. if you could attach it to a tap and run the excess off to a drain, this avoids that problem, but is a bit wasteful. It can be very effective - I saw a production of Brief Encounter on stage with "real" rain behind an 8 metre long run of windows. It provided it's own sound effect as well.....

Of course you have to ensure that there is no risk of water coming into contact with anything electrical....

it might be just as effective, and much simpler, to go for the "sound effect only" option, if you avoid the more violent recorded rainstorms which can sound like chips frying unless carefully handled.