General DMX Question

eviljohn2

I'm still fairly new to this lampy business so please bear with me. I think I understand how DMX works and how the Pearl works but this bit confuses me...

Say I'm patching a Mac500 on the Pearl. There's a few personalities but why do only the correct ones work? I would expect that just increasing the value of a certain DMX string would affect that light attribute appropriately.

How does the Mac/desk know that the wrong personality has been used when the attributes would work fine if I just patched them as dimmers?

TIA. ;)

When you control a Mac500 (or other moving light) you are only sending a set of DMX values.

Say the Mac500 is patched into DMX channel 1

Looking up the manual of the Mac500 tells me that the channels do the following:

1 - Shutter, Lamp control & reset

2 - Dimmer

3 - Colour wheel 1

4 - Colour wheel 2

11 - Pan

At this point things become complicated, as the Mac500 has several different personalities with different numbers of channels.

12 can either be Pan Fine (least sig byte (LSB) of 16-bit number for pan) or Tilt

13 either doesn't exist, is Tilt or is the pan & tilt speed (for vector programming, not used much)

14 either doesn't exist, is the Tilt LSB or the effects speed.

15 and 16 only exist in Mode 4

Personalities are used to make the trackball do movements and to group the various features of the moving light in logical ways - they are purely to make it easier to program.

Therefore, if you use the wrong personality in the desk (eg Pearl), what happens is that you program all the things you want, but the light doesn't do what you expected.

Eg - the Mac500 is set to Mode 1, but the Pearl is set to use the Mode 4 personality.

When you pan the light, you find that the tilt will move as well because you are giving the LSB of Pan to the Tilt channel.