Plasa

Brian

So, how many of you went to PLASA today (Sunday)?

You can probably guess that I did, mainly so that my other half could go. I will be going later in the week for a proper look.

What did I see?

Lots of moving lights, nearly ever other stand had moving lights on it. Lots of LEDs, I thought that last years show marked the arrival of LEDs and I think I was right. Lots of guys wearing black tee shirts with 'Dave's Dynamic Disco' or 'Spectrum of Sound' on the back. Actually I need to be careful here, since in my dim, dark, distant past I too ran a mobile disco (though in my defence we did have white sweat shirts).

Lots of products 'cut away' so you could have a good look at their inerds; as a real engineer I actuallly like this sort of exhibit.

What did you see?

Went up today. Met a few people I knew and said hi. saw lots of LED fixtures drooled over the new Catalyst system (which is clever as it's up in the air...) Saw some new kit from Strand for Macintosh (Finally!) but generally it's just nice to get to see the new stuff that's out there.

Oh yeah I met Mark leMaitre doing his pyro thing (very nice but a bit short)

Got to work this week so it's just the one day up there for me :o

Is it as bad as everyone says on Sunday, or can a bog standard theatre technician walk around and manage to get thru the throngs of DJs?

Stu

The last time I went on a Sunday was when the show was still at Olympia. It was terrible then, with loads of tax inspectors and quantity surveyors who play at being DJs at the weekends all wandering around in their flight jackets and clutching their aluminium briefcases. From what others have said, it sounds as though it's pretty much the same now - so a weekday would be a much better bet. But still generally not as good as ABTT, though - there you can at least talk to people at a conversational level without having to compete against most of the world's PA manufacturers all trying to out-boom each other.