Which Moving Heads (250W MSD)?

amillar

Hi,

This is my first post so hopefully I've done it correctly :D

I have been doing lighting for many years but only as a "semi-professional hobby" mainly for Church groups with any funds raised going back into the equipment.

I am in the market, with a limited budget, for a couple of moving head lights - preferably 250W MSDs. This is to complement my current rig which consists mainly of Pars, fresnels, 2 Martin Pro 518s (MkII) and a Fat Frog desk.

I have been considering the following movers (listed cheapest first ... at least as I can source them):

FutureLight MH-660

FutureLight PHS-250

Pearl River Pilot 250

GLP YPOC 250

Robe Spot 250XT / ColorSpot 250

Martin Mac 250+

I guess that I'm after all the features as I tend to do a variety of events (from Choirs to dramas to rock concerts) so I need units that are flexible. I only do about 1 event per month and as I don't hire/lend out any of my gear it doesn't get much abuse. One thing that I am after in particular is a fairly wide beam angle as an option (18deg ish) so that I can use them to project patterns at the back of the performing area from fairly close distances but having said that I do want the images to be fairly well focussed.

At present I'm leaning towards the GLP units as they seem to fit the bill but they don't seem that common within the UK/Ireland (I'm based in N Ireland). I just missed out on a couple of 2nd hand FutureLight MH-660s but I would prefer to buy new anyway.

The Pearl River units are very well priced but I do not like the rumours that I hear about them in respect to ripping off other manufacturers designs - morally I have a problem with that if the rumours are true? Besides, I have heards varying reports on their reliability and would be concerned as to who I would go to for service/support in 3 or 4 years time if I have a problem (especially as I would be buying them from Thomann).