Hi,

I am new to working on touring shows as up-to-now I've only worked at a local high school. However, I am going to be working on at least 3 touring shows before christmas and was wandering what I should expect during the 'get in' for these shows.

Sorry if this seems a really simple or stupid question! :unsure:

Cheers,

Duncan

Hi,

I am new to working on touring shows as up-to-now I've only worked at a local high school. However, I am going to be working on at least 3 touring shows before christmas and was wandering what I should expect during the 'get in' for these shows.

Sorry if this seems a really simple or stupid question!  :unsure:

Cheers,

Duncan

What kind of touring is it? Band or theatre?

As to a band load in, you should have a bunch of local crew to unload the truck, bolt truss together, stack boxes etc. You should be mainly supervisory during the initial bit, but then you will make the connections to dimmers, desks etc. and all the 'technical' bits.

Gig get ins tend to be quick and dirty, you should generally be able to build the entire production in about 4 hours or so, unless it's an arena size thing. Just be prepared to get a bit bored building the same thing day in day out.

But all in all, life on tour is great fun (or am I just slightly insane??), but hard work. But they do say Work hard, Play hard!!!! ;)

As Haydn asked, what kind of show? Theatre? Rock 'n' roll? One-nighters? Week (or more) runs?

Are you going to be working for the touring company, or for the receiving venue? What sort of scale? Arenas? Large (1000+ seat) theatres? Small theatres? Clubs? What's your role on the tour or at the venue?

• 4 weeks later...

You probably are slightly insane.

I mean, 2 hours sleep a night, nothing but junk food at awkward times. Bangs bumps bruises cuts scrapes all over you. Not to mention burns from soldering irons when you find that bespoke cable you need to run IEM's fails 10 minutes before doors on the first night)