"Out Of Order" Set

In November my drama group will be staging Ray Cooney’s farce “Out Of Orderâ€, which includes, amongst other things, a sash window that drops on cue 15 times, sometimes on top of hapless cast, and a cupboard door on which a “body†hangs (like Lee Evans in “The Producersâ€) and opens on cue.

Can anyone involved with last year’s national professional tour, or at any of the receiving houses it visited, offer any hints for operation of these devices?

We are well aware that safety is paramount, but are hoping to benefit from the experience gained by others over the 15 years that the play has been produced.

Thank you.

Just some thoughts, having never seen the play I wouldn't know if they'll work but...

Could u fly the slidey bit of the sash window so that it can be raised or lowered on cue.

As for the opening door, would an electromagnet work? Keeping the door closed up until it's turned on/off?

Just some thoughts as I have had no experience with the production at all.

a sash window that drops on cue 15 times

Electromagnets from RS components.

Like we used to make electro kabukis

Need an electric charge to release as opposed to needing a charge to hold.

Use a normal sash window without the string

Fix magnet in window frame.

Fix lump of metal to window

Well not the national tour, but I did design and build a set for Out of Order just over a year ago. Very fun show to work on btw.

Went for a standard 12' box set, shape of which is pretty much dictated by the script. Then just manufactured flats containing the cupboard door and sash window to match the rest of the stock flats. Hang a few doors, router up some coving, door surrounds and dado rail and splash on some paint. Easy. Hard bits: