Need suggestions for headsets

plabebob

Hi Everyone,

I'm looking to buy myself a set of cans (just the headset) which I can wear on my right ear. Does anyone have any suggestions for good comfortable brands that are mid price range? All the cans I can find are left-ear.

Thanks!

Beyers come up on ebay from time to time and they can be converted quite simply. Certainly my favourite - with one caveat. Get the velvet covers, because the ordinary ones leave black stain on your ears when they get old!

How would I go about converting one? I'm a stage manager not a technician so I don't have the skills to start taking things apart...

Don't be daft! Of course you do! This isn't major surgery eat all. The headset boom arm is attached with quite a simple mechanism, so you just need to get to the screw under the cap, and then when you take it out the swinging mic boom is compressed by a plastic moulding on both sides, and there's a little pin that stops the arm travelling all the way from front to back. Re-assemble it with the boom on the other side, put the screw back, and it's done. Five minutes max. One of mine is converted like this for somebody who has problems with their 'normal' ear. Feels weird wearing their headset, but not an issue at all. It's within the skill set of anyone able to identify a flat head screwdriver from a cross head.

I suspect many stage managers would find it odd that technical skills of this kind are not in the skill set. The days of the Stage Manager just being a 'show caller' were, I thought, gone? Most Stage Managers nowadays are the ones everyone goes to for everything!