Newbie - PA Settings Question

digitrac

Hi Newbie here!!

I have put together the following rig providing PA as a hobby for small events, discos etc:

2 x RCF Event ESW 1018 Sub

2 x RCF Event ESW 1000 Tops

1x RCF XEQ Crossover / EQ

1 X Behringer EP4000 (Subs)

1 x Behringer EP2000 (Tops)

My question concerns the various setting I'm presented with by the switches on the XEQ and EP amplifiers:

The XEQ has just one switch labelled Xover or EQ - Not sure if this means they are exclusive or not

The Behringer amplifiers have the following options for each channel which I need to consider

Low Cut Filter (On/Off)

Low Cut filter (30Hz/50Hz)

Clip Limiter (On/Off)

What do you think would be the best setting

Regards,

digitrac

Hi Dude,

First off, welcome to the world of sound.

I would like to recommend you looking at an active system with built in crossovers. Active is ideal for beginners or people who want easy expansion and set-up.

Check out some of the Thomann The Box series, they have some good quality products at good prices. I own a Box system and it is currently out on an acoustic tour.

Anyway, back to your question:

Take a LR feed from your source (mixer, ipod etc) and go into any crossover, then you can set up the tops and subs. i.e. only send frequencies lower than 250hz to your subs (depends on the sub) then send the rest to your tops. If this sounds confusing, then I suggest looking at active with built in crossovers.

Here is a breakdown:

LR feed from mixer >>> CROSSOVER > >250Hz ---> Subs

> <250Hz ---> Tops

Drop me an email if you would like a consultation and equipment recommendation. We can even supply equipment for you to purchase. will@loudnproudproductions.co.uk

Hope this helps

Will

Hi Will,

Many thanks for your response