Advice for a rigger?

Dave79

Howdy.

First post here. Apologies if it's in the wrong place.

Ive been training as a climbing rigger for about 7 months now and am close to doing my NRC level 2 assessment. Ive got most physical aspects of the job nailed bar one.

I wanted to ask if any of the more experienced Climbing arena riggers have any advice on pulling points on skinny beams. Basically theres a few places in the roof I work in where Im pulling steel from a 4" box section beam and I cant seem to get a comfy or stable way to sit down once the bridal/dead hang has been pulled to height to make it off.

Any tricks or methods out there that Im not aware of?

Ive tried stepping into my bowline and lowering to a croutch, and hanging the weighted rope over one way to get down onto the beam, but I lack confidence in my movement on those really skinny beams.

Advice?

Cheers in advance.

Ive tried stepping into my bowline and lowering to a croutch, and hanging the weighted rope over one way to get down onto the beam, but I lack confidence in my movement on those really skinny beams.

You're on the right track with that. Once the rope is over the beam with a foot in the loop, the weight helps to stablise you. Confidence is key, but a skinny wee box section beam like that is as difficult as it gets so don't worry if you find it tough, it'll take a lot of time and practice.

With bridles, working with your partner is also important - any jerking about at one end will wobble the person on the other end, so stay aware of what they're doing, avoid any too-sudden movements, especially be aware when your partner has the pin out of the secondary shackle. (And be prepared for that *#$%! over there not to show you the same consideration sometimes.)