Do I need a Hauling Line + a Load Out Line ?

Reddy Red

Hello I'm new to the rigging game ( I have worked in various event roles for 14 years). I'm self employed and have paid for my rigging course and PPE off my own back. My budget for equipment is reasonably tight (without compromising on quality) and I am buying rigging gear bit by bit whilst working other jobs.

My conundrum at the moment is that I presumed that I would just need one rope to do rigging, but I have discovered through research that there is a hauling line and a load out line - when I was on the phone to a rigging supplies company they were suggesting I needed the 2 which will obviously double my rope budget (or there abouts !).

So my question to the experienced riggers on this forum is:

do I actually need a Hauling Line + a Load Out Line ? Can I get away with 1 ? how many ropes do you have ?

I'm wondering if I'm been given the hard sell ?

Thanks in advance http://www.blue-room.org.uk/public/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif

I use at least 3 ropes -

1) The one I use for personal suspension/climbing/access - literally the rope I trust with my life

2) a general hauling line for lifting and positioning stuff

3) the rope I let anyone else touch when they ask for a piece of rope

How many ropes you need (and indeed harness types, caribs, strops, slings, lanyard and all the other gizmos in the climbing world) all depend on what you're rigging and where - throwing up a few generic lanterns in an old theatre needs a completely different set of personal rigging tools to installing a Tightrope in a football stadium. You need to start by identifying the market you're actually going to be working in and tooling up for that.

You're not being given the hard sell necessarily, but you can get away with just the one for starters. Some prefer to use the one rope for everything anyway.