LED par cans for school

mattlad564

Hi guys,

I am a student at a school and have just been give the responsibility of running lighting in our school hall. we are looking at buying some new LED par cans, most likely 56's.

was looking at stairville. what are peoples opinions and do you have any other suggestions?

many thanks

In this price range I can't fault the basic Stairville 151 PAR 56s. Most of the other LED PARs have a beam angle of 25 degrees or less which means you need a lot of them to evenly wash a stage in a drama studio or hall. In my case the 45 degree beam of the 151's means you can wash an 11m by 6m stage with 12 cans. Light output is equivalent to 3x or 4x 800W floods but you have the advantage of full RGB.

Things to watch:

They come with an EU plug from Thomann so you need to budget for a competent person to fit a new plug and test them.

Make sure your desk will support them either as a fixture if using software like Chamsys or you have a desk where you can repatch the faders (Fat Frog, Jester etc).

Make sure you have a DMX feed to where you want the fixtures and that you have enough cables to link them all together.

Power can also get very messy as not only do you need mains rather than dimmer feed on the bars but you need cables and connectors to get it to each fixture.

The DMX settings on these fixtures only let you use addresses up to 118 and not the full 512.

You do get some colour fringing (R, G or B shadows) from a single unit but I've never had this cause a problem in a show.

If you want a similar fixture but with some more up-to-date electronics then have a look at the LED Par56 MKII RGBW or the RGBA. Light output on the colours is similar to the 151's but you have additional amber or white for general cover. You also get full 512 DMX channels and can select how many channels each fixture uses.