Italian Touring

Genus

Hello everyone.

I'm going on tour to Italy in (eep) about 2 weeks. We're in a world of pre-production hell at the moment struggling to get information from our Italian producer.

However I was hoping that you good folk on the BR might be able to answer a few (probably) dead simple questions.

We're taking some hired kit from the UK, including probably moving lights and control, perhaps a hazer, smoke machine etc.

I was hoping someone might be able to shed light on what power connectors are used in Italian theatre?

Now, I assume they will be using the standard European plug/socket for "normal stuff" but regarding lighting, would it be usual to use 16a Ceeform? Are 15amp round pin plugs used? Is there another connector altogether I have no knowledge of? I ask to make sure we have the requisite connectors/adaptors when we get on-site. I have nightmares of showing up but not being able to plug in the desk or movers *shiver*.

Any other insights from people experienced with touring Italy would be much appreciated. We're in and up in a day on quite a complex show, so really trying to nail down the Pre-pro ASAP.

Many thanks

Genus

PS: I hope I'm not a complete idiot, but I'd just like some peace of mind :)

Wikipedia Entry

It looks like Italy uses a combination of their own type and Schuko (However when I went there on Holiday a few years back I seem to recall Schuko being very dominant)

As Cee17 is a European standard I would be surprised if you didn't see it.

Hope that helps a bit

Couple of simple tips:

- Take a few powerboards with Shuko plugs fitted for your desks, monitors, chargers, etc.

Most venues will have Shuko power points.

- Take a couple of spare powerboards in case the venue has some odd powerpoint. This way you can fit a plug and be done for the day.

The point of these is that you don't have to change everything you bring, just provide your own, normal distribution.