Sound in The Crypt at St. Paul's Cathedral

Funky Dave

Hi, I'm Dave, this is my first post but I have been reading your forum on and off for about eight years, although I am new to you, you guys are not new to me. http://www.blue-room.org.uk/public/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif

I work for a sound hire company, I'm not a sound engineer, I'm a system tech but have engineered many bands over the years. ...... Just thought I should introduce myself before I start with my quandary

I have lots of experience in the dance/club world, festivals also. We have supplied sound for a few corporate events but have never worked in a church/cathedral environment. We have a couple of extremely good sound engineers that work for the company on a regular basis and both have worked in church environments but neither have worked in St. Paul's Cathedral.

We have a client that we have been working with for many years as a promoter of dance events. He has asked if we can provide the production for a corporate event that he is planning at St. Paul's Cathedral next year. Sound, lighting and stage. Of course I will go and visit the place with the client and take an experienced sound engineer with me, before I specify the production equipment and submit a pro-forma quote but he has asked for a ball-park figure, so they know what to budget.

The event is a question time presentation with a panel of leading bodies from the commercial property world. The audience will be approx 200 seated round tables. I have been given some photos of the venue (the Crypt) and there are two rows of pillars down each side of the room, splitting the room into thirds. I can post the photos if you like but I am ideally looking for information from people that have worked in this venue before. I can make my own guesses from looking at the pics but any opinions are welcome.

Does anybody have experience with this venue? The Crypt, St. Paul's Cathedral.