Design Applications

RemyKristine

I've been doing theatre for about 4 years now, so I know my way around making things happen, but I'm starting to get interested in design. So, I'm getting ready to start taking design, theatre tech, and stage management classes. I was wondering what software/applications for a Macbook Pro would be best for light/sound/set designs. Anything will help! Thanks!

None, no software will help you "design". Their is software that will help you create paperwork/plans for Lighting and Staging designs, such as VectorWorks/AutoCad which will help you create lighting plots and ground plans, LightWright for lighting paperwork such as Dimmer Hookups, instrument schedules ect.

Welcome to the Blue Room, Remy.

Whilst I agree that the design process happens mostly in your head there are lots of opportunities to use software to support that process. To say that "no software will help you design" is like saying a pencil won't help you draw.

'Light/Set/Sound designs' covers a huge area of activity so I'll make just a few suggestions.

If you want to get into set and lighting design then CAD sotware will be of interest. I see you are a student so you can get a lot of this for free. AutoCAD is used in every industry and is a good, transferrable skill. However, you may find Vectorworks is used more widely in our industry.

For lighting design and visualisation I use WYSIWYG but it isn't Mac native. There is a list of alternatives here

For sound you might use CAD to layout the system, or acoustic modelling sofware such as EASE

For set, lighting and sound you can use Excel to create lists, manage data, compete calculations, etc.

Drawing or image editing software such as Photoshop, Illustrator, Painter etc. might be used to help visualise a design or create media for projection, for example.

If you are taking a class then find out if that class uses a particular piece of software but my suggestion would be to start by learning AutoCAD or Vectorworks.