What should my Roboscan "lens" look like?

vasolene

Good afternoon,

I am a complete lighting novice.

I've recently bought a Chauvet DMX controller and two Martin Roboscan 812s. ( ...and .... and )

I have the original 812 user manual but haven't found any reference material online - hardly surprising for old kit.

I've had some excellent customer service from Dennis at www.live-lighting.co.uk

... but I think I should pester someone else now.

I have found the 812s very straight forward to work on and have successfully (*) replaced a stepper motor and restored full movement to both units.

* The tilt motors now move in opposite directions.

This is a very happy accident because I intend to use them for glorified uplighting and want the 'beams' to move away and towards each other rather than moving parallel to each other.

First question: what have I done wrong to make this happen? Will it do any harm if I continue to use it like this?

I would prefer to work with both fittings on the same DMX address for simplicity's sake.

I have got a single phase reversing cable between controller and fixture one but it's a conventional cable between fittings one and two.

Any suggestions welcome.

While I was reassembling, I 'juggled' the screw in lens fitting.

The outer half of the lens popped out of the platic tube.

It seems ok and after reading about glue on this forum I'm pretty confident about replacing it after a good clean.

My question concerns the other end of the lens fitting.

There is a metal plate held in place by four globs of (failing) glue over the inner lens.

It doesn't look like a manufacturers part. The central circular hole has been pressed out 'properly' but the outer edge has been cut down to an octagonal shape that (just) fits where it touches.

Is this a modification or the original method of retaining the second lens portion?

It look like it will be 'blocking' quite a lot of light from reaching the lens.