Lighting for rock band in very small venue

GaryMcQueen

Hello everyone. I play in a rock covers band and I'm looking at incorporating some lighting into our set-up. I've read a few guides to band lighting and they all say that some PAR cans on stands are a good place to start - the problem is that the places we play are too small to be able to put lighting stands in front of the band. I'm looking for something that will fit in the corner of the pub but still add some excitement to our show. I played at a small club once that had light on the floor at either side of the stage ( https://www.dropbox.com/s/zhsmjpoqb0g2gkd/Kage.JPG ) and while it wasn't the most flattering lighting, it was still much more interesting than no lighting. Can you recommend the kind of lighting I should be looking at? I've had a look online and some people have mentioned LED bars and some have mentioned LED PAR floodlights but I'm a beginner when it comes to lighting so any advice you can give will be greatly appreciated!

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Led bars along the front tilted toward you can surprisingly bright and the closeness makes them even brighter looking. You could also mount them on mic stands dotted around verticall facing the audience which looks good too. A simple control or a pc based one can work well.

I would agree with that LED bars are amazing, you could even look at a base plate with a scaff pole of you wanted to get them into the air a little. Another option would be using LED par cheap and cheerful ADJ pars would do by the sounds of what you are trying to achieve.

for starting out, get the ten quid dongle from chamsys - it's an intro product and times out after 5 hours, but that's enough. The software is free and you can find people running stadium shows of the very same software - plenty of easy options, and you have access to cue stacks, effects, and all sorts. If you get really hooked, you can buy a proper hardware fader panel at a later date.