LMS Recommendations

GC1971

Hi Peeps,

I'm looking to change my venerable Omnidrive on analogue desk days (anyone remember them?), and have used the DBX / Soundweb, and luckily a LAKE; but was wondering what you have and what you like/dislike about it.

I'm freelance and don't get the luxury of time in most gigs to actually piss about with the gear. I also don't have any warehouse work days to get to grips with the stuff, so although I've used it, I've not got an expert informed opinion.

Where would you bung £3K

2 in 8 out preferred, but 2/6 can be used regularly too.

Especially interested in System Techs advice who Wifi their GUI.

Ta, 0:)

G.

Hi G,

I am a FOH engineer / System tech, and I've used most systems. Here are my thoughts:

There are 2 ways to approach this. One is to get a dedicated processor like an XTA or Lake that is specifically designed for this purpose. The second, is to get something like a Soundweb or Symetrix processor that is a freely assginable DSP platform, that you can use for this, and other things.

Which way you go really depends on what you intend to use this for. Is it strictly for crossover & EQ duties? or does it more for a variety of 'after the console, before the PA' duties? Also, do you need a digital audio distribution platform? or just analogue in and out?