Calling All Stage Managers!

ChicaAnnette

I am a college student who is looking for a very impressive SM to interview for a paper. Stage Management is where I see myself in the near future and I would like to take the time to ask questions about my future career. The deadline is November 15th. You may contact me at geena.edmonds@hotmail.com

Thanks! :)

Bit Harsh Adam? Let's be honest, she's going to get a lot more response by asking strangers. Maybe she has asked locally and run out of ideas? I'd have thought asking a public forum, and a different country one at that will prove interesting. I actually contacted here to check she realised were were UK centred, and she did. I'd suspect quite a few people may well have contacted her. We get plenty of poor requests, and this seems quite straightforward - contact her if interested, or don't if not. Any response is better than no response.

She's keen to get a dialogue going, rather than just post a questionnaire on survey monkey.

Adam,

The SM in my city is out of town running another show. His assistant is also just as busy. I think my post was a great idea as apposed to begging the next extremely busy SM. If anybody has the time to participate then they will contact me. But thanks for the input.

Slightly Off Topic - but there was a good piece in "The Stage" this week from Barabara Eifler.

The Stage Feature

Just in case anyone struggles, I have also copied it here.

Test your mettle – become a stage manager. Putting on a show and ensuring it happens on the advertised day, at the advertised time can be very pressurised, juggling and prioritising demands. Things can’t be put off, either – if stage managers don’t give that “go”, ultimately nothing will happen, and it’s no good saying “I’ll have dinner and then preset the stage” because, inexorably, time moves on and the auditorium has to be opened, whether you’ve had your dinner or not.