Passive or active compact system

Boltonguy

Hi guys. Hope all is well and you are busy busy on the circuit.

I'm a solo artist singing over backing tracks in pubs and clubs. Anything from 70s disco to modern pop.

I'm looking for a new rig and have narrowed it down to 2.

2 x Yamaha dxr8s with a dxs12 sub with a Allen & Heath zed10fx

Or

2 x ev zx5 with a dynacord 600 mk3 desk

Priorities are ease of set up with the best sound to cover between 50 and 300 people.

Has anyone had any experience with these set ups? And any comments on which would be the best system (dynamic range and sound quality)

I am edging towards the passive system as it means not having to find power supplies near each speaker. Plus, I can walk into venues where space to set up is rather restricted and I am playing close to the audience.

All comments greatly appreciated.

By "passive or active", I assume from the context of your post, you mean "powered or unpowered".

But - is there any reason you have narrowed your choice down to these two systems?

The Dynacord Powermate 600 III is a poor match for the EV ZX5 cabs (it is grossly underpowered - providing 2x450w @ 8r into cabs rated 600w/8r - where you really want to give them upwards of 900w to make them sing.)

I'm never been a fan of 15" boxes for this application, a smaller LF driver will give more pleasing result on vox. Traditionally I would have always reached for a 12"+CD box, although having been using E8 extensively for a few months now, would not discount the smaller LF driver with a sub. You can run the ZX5 active, this would probably clean things up a little, but the money you'd spend on the extra amp channels, processing & 4ch. cabling would probably be better spent elsewhere.