MagicQ - Newbe questions

Ippy

Hi Everyone,

Can you guys help out a newbie. My name is Ian and I'm100% amateur with some really daft ideas. I've worked in amateur theatre on andoff for 30 years, mostly backstage crew and lighting but also a bit ofPyro/effects and even a some stage management.

I've been holding firework parties for a few years which have been gettingbigger and bigger and I've now had the idea of adding a bit of a light show.

I've collected together the following from here and there (mostly e-bay) -

10xDMX 4 channel Dimmer packs

1xDMX 4 channel Switch pack

40(ish) xPar36

10xPar56 (Short nose)

6xDMX LED Par56 (4xShowtech 2xPulse)

2xDMX LED Par36 (Make unknown)

6xSoundlab G017S Colourscan

2x4 channel sound to light packs (Make unknown)

5xMini strobes

1xMirror ball

1xMartin Magnum 550 Smoke machine

MagicQ MagicDMX Basic - I will buy the full version if it proves to be what Ineed.

I know this is all cheap kit but it will only be used 2 or 3 times a year formy parties and possibly lent to some local schools for shows.

I've been playing around with the MagicQ software and I'm please with theresults I've got with the basic lighting. I've built a rig with the PAR36's ina 4x8 grid (1 channel per lamp) and got some nice patterns and chases using thecue stacks.

I now want to start with the Colourscans, and this is where I need some help asI can't find a Personality file for them, can anyone point me to where I canfind one.

The next thing I want to do is set the whole lot to music, idea being I canstart the music and leave the light to take their cues from the music so I canfire the fireworks manually. My first thought was to use a MIDI sequencer toinsert cues and get MagicQ to work from them. But I now realise I know next tonothing about MIDI and I'm finding it hard to even find a starting point. Cananyone suggest a cheap (or even better, FREE) MIDI sequencer and a quick explanationof how to link it to MagicQ.