JBL JRX Series for Bands - Are they Terrible?

ItsMyNaturalColour

Hey everyone...

This is my first post in the sound section, and I'm not very technical minded when it comes to sound stuff so please go easy on me.

At the moment, a few friends and I are considering starting a band. We'll hopefully be playing in small to medium venues. My question is about the right choices for PA gear. I've been browsing around a few sites looking at some speakers, and I've got a few questions about the JBL JRX series. I've mainly been looking at passive solutions because I've always preferred passive speakers by nature due to ease of repairs and flexibility etc, but if anyone has any active solutions I'd appreciate that too. Plus, active stuff would be a bit quicker to set up at every gig I suppose.

My question revolves around the general usability of the JBL JRX 115 cabs and the JBL JRX 118s subs for bands. Power wise (on paper) these speakers don't look as if they'd have any problems in small venues or most medium venues (to my knowledge, please correct me if I'm wrong.) We'll be pushing through mainly vocals as a priority, but ideally we'd like to mic pretty much everything for larger gigs. This all sounds good so far, but, I've heard a lot of people that don't think highly of the JRX line. Obviously, they're not going to share the same quality as the better JBL products available such as the MRX line, but do they still sound decent enough for a band on an EXTREME budget? Do people expect too much from these speakers? If they didn't have JBL on the front, but instead "Peavy" or other similar brands, would people hold less of a grudge towards these speakers because they're made by a generally lower quality company? I get the impression that people expect too much from these speakers simply because they're made by JBL. At £200 a top cab, are they really that bad?

JBL JRX 115 cab:

http://www.jblpro.com/catalog/general/Product.aspx?PId=87&MId=3

JBL JRX 118s bin: