How complicated can shadow effects get?

MrTea

Hi everyone, long time lurker, first time poster.

I'm wanting to project a series of shadows resembling a floor plan using a gel on a single wash, would this be possible? I'm planning to stage a production based entirely in an apartment. This is the stage Cardiff's Gate Theatre we're hoping to use. What I'd be hoping to do is to have the single wash constantly illuminated to a certain level. With spots working in rooms where "active" scenes are taking place.

Another option could be to place a number of gels on several spots, and insuring that the "shadow walls" overlap. I should say at this point I'm a complete amateur (which I'm pretty sure is completely obvious) so I guess I'm wondering if this is even feasible.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Cheers!

Wash lights are designed for covering large areas with diffused light, so aren't suitable for projecting images, either slides or gobos. However, you could use a wash as a back-projection source, and make up your floorplan 'framework' from timber battens and put it near the backdrop, so the shadows of the battens are cast on the backdrop from behind. You could then pursue your other idea, of using spots to illuminate the current 'action' room, from the front.

Probably better off looking at projection... I mean you could get a gobo made (for a floor-plan type gobo, you are probably looking at glass) and use a profile to project it, then additional profiles for every spot you want to illuminate, but IMO projection would be easier and look neater.