Directors and Money

Fingers

Hi all.

A bit of back story for you. I'm currently in my final year of school preparing for an upcoming production of Return to the Forbidden Planet. I am operating the sound for the actual production, but as the most experienced theatre engineer in the school I've become the technical manager for the production. This is something that I have much experience with!

I was instructed to get quotes for the required hire kit for the production, but when the full quote came through from my friend (and a blue room regular) the MD (not even the director!) threw a wobbler! He is also the theatre manager and thus controls all the finances. The equipment for hire is from a very good friend of mine, I know it all works and have used it all before, and now it's got to the point where we are hiring lots of single items from lot of different people. Something which I am not comfortable with. The quote that I received was not ridiculous and was most reasonable with no negotiation taking place and now I find myself in a situation whereby the MD is now questioning every decision that I make and is now intervening in the technical aspects of the production, something which he knows nothing about.

This got me thinking. How to people in the industry work around this? I understand that a lot of the industry is based on working with people and not working against them, but this kind of situation musty have happened before. How do people preparing for a show run deal with this kind of thing? This situation is not exclusive to sound, schools or theatre so any opinions or experiences are welcome!

With thanks in advance

Elliott

P.S. Mods, I appreciate that this might not be in the appropriate forum; feel free to move as needed.

Ok, lets get this out of the way quickly.