Audiohead Amps. any views, opinions?

inanimateman

Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum and would appreciate any advice. I do the sound for a 10 piece amateur band, I know its not exactly theatre but there are one or two performers among them.

We've an old PA, one amp has just died. All we have now is an HH 2x 250W @ 4ohm and a pair of (we think) 200W full range cabs, no idea what make (they're black!)

We've a soundcraft 16 channel desk, fx unit, and a Behringer FBQ 2x 31 channel graphic.

I'm looking into buying new amps and speakers. I've £1500 to spend and want to get a minimum of 1000W (rms) total, enough for a gathering of 250 people say. So Amp's and cabs to cope. (Oh forgot to mention...there's a 4 piece brass section in there to contend with and an exuberant drummer.)

I've been looking around and seen some Audiohead kit, its not been out long & wondered if anyone had any experience with them?

Other kit I've looked into is Behringer EuroPower stuff, for two amps (EP1500 & a 2500) 2x Subs 2x tops and an active crossover is around £1200.

Also powered Mackie stuff 2x ERM450 active jobs and 1x active 400W sub comes in at around £1500 - £1600.

Any thoughts and preferences out there. Any advice welcome.

Although I don't get on well with it, the Mackie active system does seem to be incredibly popular and loads of people rave about it.

I never thought I'd be advising anyone to be going for mackie speakers, but I am unwell at the moment, so I'll use that as my excuse/disclaimer.

I've Never heard of Audiohead.

Si

Hi,

I have three Audiohead AH1800 amps -use two powering my passive monitors on smaller/lower priced gigs- have to say for the money ,they are spot on -had them since last June time and have had no problems with them. My only crit is that they are heavy, but thats what you get at the lower end when you can't afford switchmodes.

hope this helps

Adey