budget mics for drum kit overheads - part 2

S&L

following my original post http://www.blue-room.org.uk/index.php?showtopic=49992&st=0&p=415288&fromsearch=1&&do=findComment&comment=415288

I picked up a pair of behringer C4 condenser mics, mainly because the Pulse condensers were out of stock. I have used these for a couple of gigs now, once on a normal setting and once on the minus 10db setting, just to see the difference. Regardless of setting these mics seem very lively - in both cases I have to set the gain on the desk down to virtually nil to get a reasonable level on the desk. I have no experience with phantom powered condenser mics - would this be considered normal?

working in bars (both nights) and with the mics too far away from from the skins for my taste (nearly 2ft because the drummer couldn't cope with them closer) the sound was twoo reverberant and while I only needed the level low on the desk there was no 'comfort zone' to lift the mics without feedback from the main PA speakers a good 6ft in front - and no drums in the monitors. I can only assume this is interaction between drum mic and vocal mics.

I'm wondering if anyone has thoughts to share on getting better results on confined bar stages.

Personally for my tastes when I’m engineering a typical rocktype gig I hardly ever use overheads unless I’m in a bigger venue. I prefer thetighter sound of close miced and gated drums that are nice and punchy.

One of the reasons is the front line vocal mics tend to bequite close to the drum kit and have a fair amount of gain on them to get levelon vocals. As a result if you solo up that channel you will hear quite a lot ofthe drum kit anyway.