Strange QLab glitch

Stuart91

I'm relatively new to using QLab, and whilst it is fantastic I have discovered a strange glitch. WAV files which play fine within iTunes are distorting when played back in QLab. What happens is one channel peaks alarmingly. It isn't noticeably louder, but is clearly distorting the preamps on the desk.

In the meantime, I have got around the problem by just using one side of the track. It is the same side which distorts, on two separate tracks. Play them back in iTunes, and the problem disappears.

The best I can come up with myself is that there is some issue or incompatibility with the file format I'm using. The tracks were originally ripped into iTunes from a CD, and I had optimistically thought that they would carry over OK. QLab rejected a bunch of AAC format tracks so I suspect it might be fussy about such things. Wondering if anyone has come across a similar problem?

The best I can come up with myself is that there is some issue or incompatibility with the file format I'm using. The tracks were originally ripped into iTunes from a CD, and I had optimistically thought that they would carry over OK. QLab rejected a bunch of AAC format tracks so I suspect it might be fussy about such things. Wondering if anyone has come across a similar problem?

If you have 'sound check' on in iTunes the files may actually be broken and iTunes may be normalising them on the fly for you.

The best thing to do is to see if they playback correctly using QuickLook in the Finder. If they do and they still don't play back correctly in QLab then it's worth sending them to Figure53 support along with your workspace to see if they can work out how they are broken.

QLab will play m4a files but only non-DRMed ones. The most likely reason for Qlab to reject m4a files is they have been bought from the iTunes music store and thus are DRMed.

Thanks for the replies.

I'll try re-encoding as MP3s and see if that eliminates the problem. Unfortunately the tracks