Soft Patching

martin.sjc

HI.

I currently work in a school where the theatre is becoming more and more widely used, putting strain on our 12/24 channel desk. I am Looking to purchase a slightly larger lighting desk (24/48) that has the ability to soft patch fictures.

Can anyone please suggest a suitable desk for me, preferably not too expensive.

Cheers.

do you use intelligent lighting or are you likely to in the future? also what desk are you using at the moment? What do you want to be able to get out of the desk?

I have used a strand 200 24/48 mode which works well with good effects.

It all depends on who will be using the desk and the sort of fixtures you want to use with it.

If you have a wide range of people using the desk and are looking for something the anyone can use just by sliding faders up and down then I would look at the Zero 88 range. A local theatre to be has a 48/96 channel Bullfrog and when they brought it, it was specifically chosen for the ease of use in controlling generic fixtures. They also have the ability to control intelligent fixtures although tend to struggle when controlling a large number of them and programming these into cues. The desk frequently has to save the show, stopping your operation of the desk.

If you are looking for something that only you or a select few technically minded people will be using and have the time to learn then I would look the ETC range although not sure if this is our of your price range. They have a much higher number of channels and are much better at handling more complex programming.

Hope this helps.

+1 for the frog range too, have both a fat frog (24/48 generics) and a bull frog (48/96 generics), the bullfrog is basically just a bigger version of a fat frog which has two universes and can control more fixtures (24 as opposed to 12).

There is also the Leap frog which has the same amount of generics as a fat frog with 24 fixtures.

http://www.blue-room.org.uk/wiki/Frog#Fat_Frog