DMX 512 CONTROLLER??

persuasion

hi all, complete novice here I have a pair of "chauvet vue 1.1" and a pair of "lantra orion links"

currently they are all set up purely sound to light but we want especially with the lantra units to be able to use the washs,fades etc

ideally we want to be able to set up memories which can be used for specific songs, which DMX controllers will allow us to this and more besides??

any help would be useful as we know we're not getting the full potential out of our lights

martin

Yes, a controller will allow this. There are hundreds out there, some are nigh on impossible to use in a live situation, some are ideal. All will need custom programmes making for your application which will require a good understanding of how DMX is implemented if you're to do it yourself...ie there's no plug and play solution.

If you use the forum stickies to read-up exactly how DMX works then you'll be in a better position to make a choice of controller that will work for you. There's nothing worse than blindly buying something that 'looks good' but in practice turns out to be awkward (and disheartening) to use when in fact you've simply bought the wrong unit.

Everyone has their own favourite DMX controller and what seems great for one person is a fiddle for another.

In your position I would speak to a retailer who knows their stuff, where you can actually see and play with a controller before you buy it.

Weeelllll, withstanding that this is a live show forum and not particularly useful for DJ equipment, I'll try to recommend something. I have no knowledge of any DJ style controllers which may or may not be cheaper and more suitable.