Electrical Qualifications/Regulations

I've recently become technical manager of my universities theatre society. I'm going to receive training on working at height/scaff towers and fire training but I've had no information on electrical training. I'm looking to get an idea of what's available before I contact the university, just so I've have an idea of what I'm talking about.

Let's say I want to wire a regular 50W incandescent lamp above the stage for a scene in a house, or say I want to put an in-line switch on a generic fixture so a stage hand can operate it - what training would I need to receive to be legally able to do this? I am studying mechanical engineering with modules in electrical engineering and signals & systems and I also have 4 years experience of theatre lighting systems so I have no doubt I could do the jobs described above, the question is how do I do them legally i.e. which regulations must I make sure I comply with.

As a starting point, obviously whatever I 'create' would need to be PAT tested, so PAT training (or contacting the universities regular PAT tester) would have to happen.

Do you know how to do it properly, and when you've done it, would you be happy to plug it in WITHOUT testing?

What I mean is not that you should, but do you actually have confidence in your own abilities?

What worries me a little is the apparent mismatch in your existing skills. You have 4 years experience of doing practical lighting, and you're doing an engineering degree with electrical and electronic modules - yet posing the question as to the legalities seems to contradict your skill levels.