Controlling a lighting show with MIDI footcontroller

Adam_Dawson

I am a guitarist and singer in a rock band, and have long used MIDI to control elements of my guitar rig. I've recently bought a TC Helicon Voicelive 2 for vocal harmonies and effects and am now controlling that from the same midi foot controller (Fractal Audio MFC 101).

I'm also a lighting engineer and have a number of DMX fixtures (mainly Abstract twister 4s) and PAR 64s with t-bar mounted digital DMX dimmers.

So, what I'm looking to achieve is to trigger pre-programmed scenes from the same midi switch that I use for other parts of the show. Let's say for example that I go into a guitar solo; I press one of the midi switches, it calls up my Fractal Audio Axe-Fx amp's settings, changes the vocal effects (where needed) and turns on the twisters to do a preset scene, all with the one press that I'd be pressing anyway - no extra 'riverdancing' required!

This must be possible I'm sure, but has anyone had any experience of doing this sort of thing, and is there a preference for software-based control or rackmounted hardware. I have a rack for guitar stuff anyway so hardware is certainly an option, but it'd be good to know what the pros and cons are. If software, I would be using a Macbook Pro so would need mac-compatible software.

From what I've read, it seems that most midi controlled lights are done through midi notes, rather than CC messages or Program Change commands. My foot controller can also send custom 16bit midi message strings (whatever they are?!) so perhaps this is relevant?

Thanks for any advice...

Adam

Take a look at the lanbox LCX

The LanBox-LCX is an extremely versatile DMX controller suited for nearly any DMX-512 lighting application. Whether it should run a show stand-alone, controlling up to 6 universes (3072 DMX channels) using an Ethernet network, synchronized via MIDI or connected to a notebook via USB, with the LanBox-LCX it's all possible!