QLAB and Video Live

craigz

Hi All

I am new to QLAB and want to use it at a live show.

Is it ok to run everything inc all media from MBP or is it more stable to store media externally. I am aware of ensuring stills/video end to conserve resources. Will run a 2nd machine in hot back - probably both in to some sort of switcher and then out to projector.

My MBP is 2.4ghz with 4GB ram

Also are there any ways to quickly switch from 16:9 to 4:3 if needed in different enviroments or would I need to rebuild the show with media in correct formats?

Many thanks

Craig

Yep it should run fine from the built in harddrive. As for the aspect ratio issue, You can scale and alter the image in terms of size on Qlab, and do a crude form of cropping, or if you prefer to have all the image, Id rebuild.

I can confirm that we did a show last year using a MBP/QLAB with similar spec to yours for lots of sound effects and video projection. The internal disk only was used and it worked perfectly every night.

Bob

I can confirm that we did a show last year using a MBP/QLAB with similar spec to yours for lots of sound effects and video projection. The internal disk only was used and it worked perfectly every night.

Bob

Thanks to both of you.

As I have control on the production of the media is there a codec for QT that works best with QLAB - final output is projector to large stage set

Qlab works with any quicktime codec. For a good quality output I would opt for Prores or h264 at a decent bitrate.

Running clips which are the same native resolution as your projector and avoiding any scalers between computer and projector helps maintain quality.

• 4 weeks later...