How long before a Rider specify's 'No Analogue'?

mrcog

Pretty much as the title says... For years I'm sure we've all seen riders that specify 'No Digital' for the FOH and/or Monitor desk, however how long do you all think it will be before riders start specifying 'No Analogue'. With new engineers entering the industry, who have been brought up working with computers, I recon it will be maybe in the desk 5 years where riders will be speccing No Analogue desks. I have mixed with both analogue and digital consoles (albeit the M7CL and LS9, both designed to be 'Analogue Friendly') and personally I prefer them to an analogue desk due to the increased flexibility and smaller footprint.

Okay, I'm not going to lie, I am very new to the industry so I have no-where near the experience as many others working in this industry so I would actually be really interested in hearing many other people's opinions.

Also, working as casual crew, we are routinely seeing larger numbers of digital consoles coming through compared to the analogue equivilants. Almost all the FOH consoles are digital, with about half and half for monitors.

James

Personally, all my tech riders specify no digital, simply because they sound terrible and I find it really annoying to do simple things (that are so easy with an analogue board) like manually controlling delay effects (sending only certain words to the effects) as an INTEGRAL part of a performance. At least two of the bands I work with need this as part of the show. I've yet to find a digital desk that will allow me to do this whilst mixing the rest of the band at the same time. Perhaps I need 5 more years practice, but that's not really an acceptable option unfortunately, plus by then every digital desk manufacturer will have changed their mind on how to set out their consoles interfaces anyway.

I'll get slated for this, but I think digital desks are extremely lazy - at least in the world of live bands.