Rackcase systems

sleepytom

I'm needing to get some more rack cases. Upto now I've sworn at gator / skb style racks but I'm looking to get something a bit tougher and smarter looking this time.

I'm looking at some kind of sleeved rack system such as Thon Multiflex or Dragon Cases Rack Pack

I like the idea of some kind of shock protection, and the modular approach of these systems seems ideal to me as I can mix and match the gear without having to spend hours taking things in and out of racks.

Does anyone have any experience of such systems (good or bad) ? or advice as to other manufacturers who make similar products?

thanks

I've been using EMS modular cases for over 10 years. They've been abused quite badly. The only complaint I've ever had is breaking off the plastic moulding that the clamps clamp on to. It's not the cases fault, every one I have broken was down to me shutting them in the dark, or in a cramped place and the lid wasn't properly on, and although the thumb plate was very tight, I persevered and snapped them off. I've done this to four now - but this isn't bad for ten year old racks. Expanding or shortening is a bit of a pain - it's a bit fiddly - but it works. I've used them in various sizes, and they are fine even heavily loaded in 20U format.

I have a couple of the EMS cases and I don't really like them, mine have sufferd some lid damage and I've found that they are too thin for a lot of gear (specifically video gear with bolt on ears often is too wide to fit in the EMS cases)

I'm thinking that this style of case is probably best

http://www.5star-cases.com/Rack_in_Box_Ind.jpg