powerpoint projections

kmk

Hi there!

I am a theatre designer and began working in the industry fairly recently...therefore being quite inexperienced so far! I am designing a play and want to use projected images and film clips. The theatre has a projector and I have been told this can be rigged up to a laptop and the projections be done as a powerepoint presentation. I believe that I must provide the images as jpg and the clips as mpeg format. Does this sound alright so far?

To complicate matters, I want some of the images projected to have transparent areas, ie as if photocopied onto acetate so that white areas are transparent and we see the patterned wall behind the image. Does anyone know how I could do this? I am a bit of a technophobe so please talk in laymans terms! :)

Thank-you very much!

Kate

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hi there!

I am a theatre designer and began working in the industry fairly recently...therefore being quite inexperienced so far! I am designing a play and want to use projected images and film clips. The theatre has a projector and I have been told this can be rigged up to a laptop and the projections be done as a powerepoint presentation. I believe that I must provide the images as jpg and the clips as mpeg format. Does this sound alright so far?

To complicate matters, I want some of the images projected to have transparent areas, ie as if photocopied onto acetate so that white areas are transparent and we see the patterned wall behind the image. Does anyone know how I could do this? I am a bit of a technophobe so please talk in laymans terms!  :)

Thank-you very much!

Kate

Hi Kate,

Powerpoint, although it will work, is not the best solution - but for now we'll stick with it!

The still images can be in any format that Powerpoint can open - jpeg, gif, bitmap (bmp), and numerous others. Movies will be best in mpeg, or even wmv. Whatever you're happy with.