selecon Acclaim Axial 18-34 Zoomspot

Acdisco

Hi guys,

New to theatre lighting, normally just do sound and LED and club lighting, but decided to invest a bit of our spare balance into a seperate market (although obviously related to what we do!)

My issue is I decided to go with the Axials as they have superior optics for gobo and logo use compared to the standard ones.

My only issue is that if I get the center in focus the rest of the projection has a glow around it,

Ive used the lamp adjust on the back, and I can minimize the glow by turning it fully clockwise, although this dims the visible output by 2/3??!!

Am I doing something wrong?

Can I get rid of the glow?

Has anyone got any images of their profiles in use so I can see how your optics compare?

I just don't think it will be good enough for anything other than slightly blurred outside breakout work!!

Any advise massively appreciated!

as I said im new to theatre and gobo projection work... be gentle! :P

Cheers

J.

You have made a good choice with the axial. You have three seperate issues here that interact.

Lamp adjustment

Focus

Image enhancement

Adjustment of the lamp is critical to correct and efficient use of the Acclaim axial. Be careful when adjusting so you do not jar the filament as it will blow, so before making any adjustment, when the lamp is cool, make sure all adjustment move smoothly. Make sure the lamp is correctly seated in the socket. I use a light meter as a relative measurement across the beam projected onto a flat surface at a perpondicular angle. I usually get a four fold increase in light output with the axials, but it is hard to do the first time around. When properly adjusted they are a very good light. When not properly adjusted, they suck, so take the time to learn how to do it. Lamp life is good so you don't get too much practice.