feedback problems

jamlucas

hi guys, wondering if you could help,

I'm a lighting tech, and somehow got a job doing the sound as well in a venue. I'm having trouble with a bit of feedback when using headmics, well a lot of feedback. hand held mics are fine, but with headmics I'm getting all sorts of feedback all over the place. I have a DBX driverack installed, and reading the manual it says that there is a feedback destroyer in it but I really don't know how to make it work properly. the only way I have got round this is taking bottom end off the mics and running it quieter than I would like.

feedback suppressors arn't generally the best idea. They require it to feedback before they can do anything, and often take out too much of a frequency band, then have limited bands so say the 6th time it feeds let go of band 1 to catch the 6th, at which point the first frequency is a problem again.

Is there a graphic EQ over the System?

Between that and the channel EQ you can get a a flatter response that will give you the best gain before feedback.

Other than that you need to look at things like proximity to the speakers and mic pick up patterns.

Other than that you need to look at things like proximity to the speakers and mic pick up patterns.

The first thing to look at is where the speakers are in relation to the mics in my opinion. Feedback destroyers can help a little if all else fails but if you fix any positioning issues, you'll often find you don't even need them. It's perfectly possible to get omni headset mics very loud but it relies on both them and speakers being of reasonable quality, suitably EQed and speaker dispersion patterns made optimum use of.

The first thing to look at is where the speakers are in relation to the mics in my opinion.