Sound Editing Software

gallente

Hey all, im looking for a basic sound editing program. Im going to be plugging some stuff into my Line in port on my laptop, and I want a program that alows me to put some effects onto it, only basic stuff like echo an things like that. I really need something free really, or a trial version because im only going to be using it once. Thanks :)

Or you may get on with Audacity - there's even a Linux version! :) :)

Here's a link... About Audacity (Courtesy of SourceForge.net)

The Windows version supports Cubase VST plugins (and there's loads of free ones for compression, reverb, gating, EQ, Valve Saturation, delay, etc - all floating around on the 'net)

And best of all, it's free!!! :o

Hope this helps

C.

I'd suggest trying the adobe audition demo, too.Having used the demo a few times in anger, I can justify buying it now. I'm no sound engineer (indeed, it would be fair to describe me as an "unsound engineer" in so many ways :) ), but it didn't take long for this dunce to learn how to do what I needed to with audition.

I've just upgraded to Audition from CEP.  It seems to work just the same (ie the CD writer doesn't) but the rest of it is :-

(:- The Mut's N...)

I forgot about that - I don't use the "CD project" bit , as I had trouble with it as well. Not a problem, though, given the seemingly endless amount of CD-burning software that seems to lurk on my hard drive!

Where have the groups moved to?  I had the Syntrilium forums bookmarked, but have yet to have a look at the new ones.

I suppose I could Google....