Alesis HD24 + Mac(snow lep) or Windows xp + Crossover cable

Alex222

Hi,

Basically this is my first time using the Alesis HD24, all went fine recording all the tracks and that sort of thing, was straight forward.

BUT: then I started to try the FTP transfer to get the tracks off. I have spent about 2 hours with both my MacBook Pro (snow leopard) and my Windows (xp).

I am connecting them directly to each other using the crossover cable.

Now, the manual is of no help as it doesn't cover new mac's and does not cover above windows 98! and has been of little help.

Could anybody give a simple step by step guide on how to use the FTP please on either the mac or xp!

alex.

I haven't personally used the recorder but I just looked on their website and in the specifications it states that the ethernet port is only "10 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)" which means it can only reach up to a maximum of 10 megabits per secound. This is quite slow (the original ethernet used I think). Again I don't use any recorder like this but I assume that as it mentions that the hard drives are just standard IDE or simular drives then you should be able to, just dock them as a normal hard drive using a usb or firewire cable to IDE or whatever is being used. These can cost just a few quid normally off the usal websites. The only one problem that I could see is that they are formatted in a strange format, both windows and Mac OS X should be able to at least read the data but might not be able to write/delete the files nativly.

Hope this helps at all.

The ethernet transfer isn't the most reliable system on the planet. And also very slow.

I'm not sure why you'd have problems though - it's just standard networking, no different to getting any other networked devices to talk to each other. Set the IP etc on the HD24 and point your browser / ftp client at that address. I've managed it on XP and linux without a problem; the choice of computer / OS really shouldn't matter.