Interconnecting mixers.

Josh 2

I’ve never read about anyone on the forum using/trying Samson Powered Mixers, so I assume they’re not rated very highly. However, I’ve been using a TXM20 for a couple of years and (as a novice) can’t fault it in any way, it’s been 100% reliable and as the saying goes… does exactly what it say’s on the box!

The problem I’m starting to have is running out of input channels (four piece band incl fully mic’d drum kit and occasional ‘guests’). So thing is… because I’m very happy with the first mixer, I was thinking of buying another Samson Powered mixer (TXM16) and linking the two together (input wise) by taking the ‘main out’ (line level) of one mixer and feeding it to the ‘amp in’ on the second mixer. I’m trying to get my head around if there is any point in doing a complete crossover as well (out’s from both mixers to in’s on both). First question… is connecting two powered amps like this a good/bad idea, any pitfalls and if not is there any sense in a single or a dual crossover of the two?. I could do this another way by connecting (already have) an Soundcraft desk that we carry as backup, but I have it in my head (right or wrong) that I’m happier with the uniformality of same mixers.

If the forum will please bear with me, don’t worry about the speaker setup, I’d like to pose that as a second question once I understand the if’s and but’s of this concept.

Thanks,

J.

There is no need to buy a 2nd powered desk unless you need to run a 2nd pair of Speakers.

Buy an unpowered mixer and take the line level outputs from it (Mixer 2) and feed them into a stereo channel on the Main Mixer (Mixer 1)

You use Mixer 1 as normal until you need more chanels at which point you just connect mixer 2 into the last stereo channel which would then just control the overall volume of Mixer 2.

HTH

Josh

Yes, the second Josh to write advises the first Josh very well.