dry ice smoke alarms and availability

henryc

hello everyone , ive stumbled across this site tonight while looking fro info regarding the usage of dry ice in a stage production.

my background is that I am a science technician working in a glasgow secondary school , for this years summer end of term stage show we were looking at using some sort of fog / smoke machine however we have been told that due to the the councils regulations school shave been told that they cannot make use of such machines for fear of triggering filre alarms, and under no circumstances can smoke detectors be covered up, now for my part I am the schools science technician , I made mention of the fact that using dry ice could provide a fog type setup but I wasnt sure either about where we could getenough dry ice from for the effect to work or if the cost would make it ano no, BUT more importantly I need to know whatis the chances of dry ice triggering a smoke alarm .

from my usage of dry ice ..small scale years agao working in chemical lab ...I remember it didnt rise greatly above the flooor and evaporated fairly quickly .

henc eany info form you folk who are in the know would be greatly appreciated

cheers

henry c