Dimmer Hunt

Munro

Hello Guys.

So, I am on a hunt for a dimmer! Well several. So, not being a dimmer expert I thought I would ask on here.

I am looking for a 96 channel system, therefore 16 x 6 channel dimmer.

I currently have 48 channels made up of 8 betapacks. I would like something that allows me to change the patch, as we have about 120 lantern. Our installed system has about 150 Plugs on the scaffold bars around the room/stage.

So I need to be able to patch the plugs to the channel on the dimmer.

I have looked at the strand wallrack, that would be fine but I can't patch. Are their any digital solutions in which I can assign a plug/lantern to a specific channel on the dimmer?

Thanks

Joe

By the time you've built a 150 way patch bay it may well be cheaper to install 150 dimmer channels and not have a patchbay.

It'll also be MUCH easier to look after! A venue I did a few shows in a few years back had 72 dimmer channels and a 100way patchbay and that was hell to patch, and nearly impossible to trace back if you had a fault somewhere!

Would it not make economical sense to get a further 8 betapacks to accompany the 8 you already have?

If the current ones aren't hardwired (I'm assuming they aren't as you say you have almost 3x as many ways as dimming channels) then just place them next to/above the current ones and you're sorted.

Josh

How about Zero88 Chillis? They come in 24 Channel Versions so you would only need 4 and you can do digital DMX adressing via the control panel. They also have scene preset panels you can place around the theatre for non-technical people to be able to put a basic stage wash up or whatever.

96 Channels requires a lot of power though - have you got enough to install it?

Josh

96 Dimming Channels (And for that matter 96 lanterns) Do not necessarily require a lot of power....

The power required depends on how many of those lights you want on At the same time.

I could run a 96 step chase of 1KW parcans off a 13A socket.