Choice of Speaker Advice?

MisterJames

Hello,

Im a performing arts tech for a secondary school... im looking at purchasing a PA system for myself but I will also take it in for the school shows and concerts they put on.

Im looking at buying 4 high/mid speakers and then getting bass bins (subwoofers) if needed. I currently have a behringer mixer (SX2442FX)

Ive seen some W-Audio PSR 12A Active 12" at 350watts rms 300w low/mid 50w high... Now im keen on these there a damn good price 1000 for 4.. ahha that good for me. Does anyone know if these are bass'y and have a good kick, chest feel to them and also have a good quality high voice coil? Plus are they good in general!

Now I would LOVE! Mackie SRM450 V2 but there very expensive and I would need 4 to cover the hall (500 people when full) thats 2100 pounds!

Sorry it long winded.

Advice welcome

Cheers Guys!

James

Hi James.

I have no experience of the W Audio speakers but they do look cheap - really cheap! :D

I don't know exactly what you hope to achieve with these speakers but a few years ago we managed to do gigs to around 500 people seated in a room with a pair of the 450s.

Get them up high and coverage should be fine - (The 450 Hozt dispersion is 90 deg, compared with 80 deg on the others)

Rather than have 4 tops I would go for 2 tops and 2 subs, just 2 tops to start with, and I would get the better ones!

The Mackie price you quote seems a tad high when I've just seen them at £880pp inc free stands! Click here!

If I wanted to spend a grand, from the little you've said I'd buy some 450s with stand and save the £120 towards some subs or cables etc.

HTH

Andy

EDIT: Fix link!