video/audio sync question and SMPTE

Dan Gruner

I am not an expert in video, hence the question. I have done some searching but have failed to find a complete answer to my questions.

Basically I need to sync audio recorded on a standalone multitrack HDD recorder (Alesis HD24XR) with video recorded on a camcorder. I have looked into using SMPTE but unsure how to implement it. The typical camcorders I get to use can't generate or chase timecode and it may be the best option to record on n external DVD/HDD recorder if I need to.

If I brought an external LTC SMPTE generator and fed this to a track on the HD24 and camcorder (the camcorder's internal mic will not be used), will I then be able to easily line up the audio and video in an editing program like Sony Vegas Pro? Would I need to use timecode embedded into the video signal on the cameera instead? How would all this work?

In addition what would be very useful for rehearsals especially, would be the facility for the camera or external DVD/HDD playback controls to directly control the HD24 and play back mutitrack audio with the video all in sync - both jumping to places, rewinding, fast-forwarding etc. This way I can play rehearsal footage through a projector for the artists and multitrack audio back through the desk for soundcheck purposes. I have seen other equipment including a remote for the HD24 that can sync to video - they have a BNC composite video input on. Is this to do with SMTPE or something different? I don't assume its as simple as taking a video feed from the video recorder and telling the HD24 to start/stop playback/record with the video?

Any help and advice, including pointers to resources would be much appreciated. I don't mind spending money either if I have to.

Dan

Having been here a few times...